Skip to main content
Faculty

Faculty

Faculty

David Abramson

Clinical Associate Professor of Global Public Health

Dr. David Abramson's work focuses on population health issues associated with disaster-related or stressor-related recovery and resiliency.

Andrea Silverman

Assistant Professor of Environmental Health
Assistant Professor, NYU Tandon School of Engineering

The goal of Dr. Andrea Silverman’s work is to develop sustainable and appropriate wastewater treatment systems, in an effort to protect public health and the environment.

Bernadette Boden-Albala

Professor of Epidemiology
Interim Chair of Epidemiology Department
Associate Dean of Research and Program Development

Dr. Bernadette Boden-Albala's research seeks to understand the complex relationships between social determinants and disease outcomes.

Marie Bragg

Assistant Professor of Public Health Nutrition
Assistant Professor, NYU School of Medicine
Director, NYU SeedProgram for Obesity and Health Disparities Research

Dr. Marie Bragg’s work focuses on identifying and affecting environmental and social factors associated with obesity, food marketing, and health disparities.

Jack Caravanos

Clinical Professor

Dr. Jack Caravanos studies lead and toxic wastes to design safe and evidence-based solutions to environmental pollution.

Julia Cartwright

Clinical Associate Professor of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Associate Dean of Communications, Promotion & Public Affairs

With her experience in social change communications, Associate Dean Julia Cartwright promotes the college's goals and mission domestically and internationally.

Virginia Chang

Assoc Professor Of Public Health & Interim Chair of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Dr. Virginia Chang focuses on obesity and health disparities; the association of obesity with mortality and disability; and the relationships between health, medical technologies, and stratification.

Ji Eun Chang

Assistant Professor

Dr. Ji Eun Chang researches the factors that contribute to care continuity within and across organizations and how work is coordinated across the social services and healthcare delivery sectors.

Rumi Chunara

Assistant Professor of Biostatistics
Assistant Professor, NYU Tandon School of Engineering

Through computational and statistical methods, Dr. Rumi Chunra researches how unstructured data can have public health applications in the real world.

Stephanie Cook

Assistant Professor

Dr. Stephanie Cook aims to understand the pathways and mechanisms linking attachment, minority stress, and health among disadvantaged individuals.

Andrea Deierlein

Assistant Professor

Dr. Andrea Deierlein is a nutritional and reproductive epidemiologist who studies dietary and environmental determinant of obesity and metabolic health-related outcomes.

Chris Dickey

Clinical Associate Professor

Dr. Chris Dickey is an international development innovator and public health entrepreneur whose work seeks to develop sustainable public health models.

Elodie Ghedin

Professor of Epidemiology
Professor and Faculty Director of Sequencing, Center for Genomics and Systems Biology

A molecular parasitologist and virologist, Dr. Elodie Ghedin uses genomics tools to explore host-pathogen interactions and severe disease outcomes related to parasites and other pathogens.

Emily Goldmann

Clinical Assistant Professor

Dr. Emily Goldmann is a social epidemiologist who seeks to contextualize and understand the causes and consequences of mental health illness across populations and the varying aspects of life.

Andrew Goodman

Clinical Professor

Dr. Andrew Goodman conducts research on population health, policy, and interventions and offers technical assistance and implementation support to varying organizations.

Melody Goodman

Associate Professor

Dr. Melody Goodman researches social risk factors that contribute to health disparities among underserved communities in urban areas and develops culturally competent and evidence-based solutions.

Perry Halkitis

Professor Emeritus
Director, Center for Health, Identity, Behavior, and Prevention Studies (CHIBPS)

Dr. Perry Halkitis is a leading expert on the intersection of HIV/AIDS, drug abuse, mental health, and biopsychosocial burdens as related to health, human behavior, development, and syndemics.

Cheryl Healton

Professor of Public Health Policy and Management
Dean, College of Global Public Health

As Dean of the College, Dr. Cheryl Healton leads the academic, service, and research programs.

Jessica Jaiswal

Assistant Professor Faculty/Fellow

Dr. Jessica Jaiswal researches how medical and health-related mistrust influences the ways in which young men who have sex with men think about and make decisions about their sexual health.

Farzana Kapadia

Associate Professor of Public Health

Dr. Farzana Kapadia is an epidemiologist interested in understanding the distribution, determinants, and consequences of HIV/AIDS across the lifespan.

Thomas Kirchner

Assistant Professor

Dr. Thomas Kirchner is a clinical-health psychologist and methodologist interested in the analysis and graphical representation of longitudinal and geographic data to inform research and policy.

Rudolf Knippenberg

Clinical Professor

Dr. Rudolf Knippenberg has guided the identification and implementation of effective strategies and policies for public health programs and healthcare systems strengthening in Asia and Africa.

S. Matthew Liao

Professor of Bioethics
Director of Bioethics Department
Affiliated Professor, Department of Philosophy

Dr. Matthew Liao uses the tools of philosophy to study and examine the ramifications of novel biomedical innovations.

Alexis Merdjanoff

Research Assistant Professor

At the intersection of public health and sociology, Dr. Merdjanoff work explores how social inequalities shape the impact of disaster on health, recovery, and resiliency.

Cheryl Merzel

Director, Educational Advancement

Dr. Cheryl Merzel has over 25 years of experience in public health researcher, evaluation, program development, advocacy, and education.

Joyce Moon Howard

Clinical Associate Professor of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Director, Undergraduate Global Public Health Programs

Dr. Joyce Moon Howard's work seeks to understand community needs and is rooted in the community healthcare movement.

Peter Navario

Clinical Assistant Professor of Global Health
Executive Director, HealthRight International

Dr. Peter Navario has extensive field experience establishing, monitoring, and evaluating HIV/AIDS treatment programs and health system capacity building across sub-Saharan Africa.

Joyce O'Connor

Clinical Associate Professor, Director of Technology Enhanced Education

Dr. Joyce O'Connor has created innovative curriculum with a student-focused and faculty-driven approach.

Danielle Ompad

Associate Professor

Dr. Danielle  Ompad is an epidemiologist whose work is focused in the areas of urban health, HIV, illicit drug use, and adult access to vaccines.

Niyati Parekh

Associate Professor of Public Health Nutrition
Director of Public Health Nutrition Department

Dr. Niyati Parekh studies and teaches nutrition epidemiology and chronic diseases, specifically she researches the correlations between diet, physical activity, obesity, and cancer.

Nina Parikh

Clinical Associate Professor

Dr. Nina Parikh examines social, psychosocial, and cultural factors impacting ethnic-racial populations and developing strategies that mitigate inequities among the uninsured, immigrants, and elderly.

Jennifer L. Pomeranz

Assistant Professor
Interim Chair, Department of Public Health Policy and Management

A public health lawyer, Professor Jennifer Pomeranz researches policy and legal options to address the food environment, obesity, and social injustices that lead to health disparities.

Joanna Pozen

Assistant Research Professor
Co-Director, Health and Human Rights Certificate Program

Attorney Joanna Pozen has worked on issues of human and women's rights for numerous organizations, including the Center for Reproductive Rights and the United Nations.

Duncan Purves

Dr. Duncan Purves researches ethical theory, bioethics, and environmental ethics - specifically death, emerging technologies, the nature of well-being, and obligations to future generations.

Regina Rini

Assistant Professor of Bioethics

Dr. Regina Rini researches the nature of human moral agency, including the implications of moral disagreement and difference and ethical issues arising from identity-affecting biotechnologies.

Diana Silver

Associate Professor

Dr. Diana Silver examines the impact of state and local policies and access of public and private services on the health and well-being of children and families, particularly in urban America.

Yesim Tozan

Clinical Associate Professor

Dr. Yesim Tozan researches health decision science, priority setting, cost-effectiveness, and resource allocation in low- and middle-income countries, with an emphasis on dengue and malaria.

Beverly-Xaviera Watkins

Clinical Associate Professor of Environmental Public Health Sciences
Interim Chair of Environmental Health Sciences Department
Chair of the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

Dr. Beverly-Xaviera Watkins researches minority aging and environmental health disparities with the goal of reducing health disparities at the community level, especially in NYC's communities of color...

Lawrence Yang

Associate Professor

Dr. Larry Yang explores global mental health and how culture relates to stigma, in order to implement interventions that improve recovery from stigmatizing conditions, such as mental illness and HIV.

Affiliated Faculty

Veronica Ades Assistant Professor, NYU School of Medicine Veronica.Ades@nyumc.org
Arthur Caplan Professor, NYU School of Medicine Arthur.Caplan@nyumc.org
Jane Carlton Professor, NYU Faculty of Arts and Science jane.carlton@nyu.edu
Dustin Duncan Assistant Professor, NYU School of Medicine Dustin.Duncan@nyumc.org
Brian Elbel Associate Professor, NYU Wagner Brian.Elbel@nyumc.org
Sherry Glied Professor, NYU Wagner sherry.glied@nyu.edu
Terry Gordon Professor, NYU School of Medicine terry.gordon@nyumc.org
Stuart Hirsch Professor, NYU Dental smh1@nyu.edu
Peter Loomer Professor, NYU Dental peter.loomer@nyu.edu
Richard Niederman Professor, NYU Dental rniederman@nyu.edu
Carol Skoshkes Reiss Professor, NYU Faculty of Arts and Science carol.reiss@nyu.edu
Scott E. Sherman Professor, NYU School of Medicine Scott.Sherman@nyumc.org
Eileen Sullivan-Marx Professor, NYU Nursing esm8@nyu.edu
George Thurston Professor, NYU School of Medicine george.thurston@nyumc.org

Associated Faculty

Nathan Bertelsen Assistant Professor, NYU School of Medicine berten01@nyu.edu
John Billings Professor, NYU Wagner john.billings@nyu.edu
Ananda Dasanayake Professor, NYU Dental ad75@nyu.edu
John Gershman Clinical Professor, NYU Wagner john.gershman@nyu.edu
Marc Gourevitch Professor, NYU School of Medicine marc.gourevitch@nyumc.org
Mary Northridge Associate Professor, NYU Dental men6@nyu.edu
Michael O’Connor Professor, NYU Dental mpo3@nyu.edu
Deborah Padgett Professor, NYU Silver deborah.padgett@nyu.edu
Victoria Raveis Professor, NYU Dental victoria.raveis@nyu.edu
Ryan R Ruff Assistant Professor, NYU Dental ryan.ruff@nyu.edu
Mark Schwartz Associate Professor, NYU School of Medicine mark.schwartz@nyumc.org
Donna Shelley Associate Professor, NYU School of Medicine donna.shelley@nyu.edu
Taraneh Shirazian Assistant Professor, NYU School of Medicine ts2981@nyu.edu
Leonardo Trasande Associate Professor, NYU School of Medicine leonardo.trasande@nyumc.org
Chau Trinh-Shevrin Assistant Professor, NYU School of Medicine chau.trinh@nyumc.org
Nancy Van Devanter Professor, NYU Nursing nvd2@nyu.edu
Dorice Vieira Associate Professor, NYU School of Medicine dorice.vieira@nyumc.org
Michael Weitzman Professor, NYU School of Medicine michael.weitzman@nyumc.org
Judith Zelikoff Associate Professor, NYU School of Medicine zelikj01@nyu.edu
Laurie Zephyrin Assistant Professor, NYU School of Medicine laurie.zephyrin@nyumc.org

Adjunct Faculty

Raghib Ali Associate Professor, NYU Abu Dhabi ra107@nyu.edu
Sally Guttmacher NYU College of Global Public Health sg2@nyu.edu
Lourdes Hernandez Associate Professor,  ljh19@columbia.edu
PhuongThao (PT) Le Post Doctoral Fellow, NYU College of Global Public Health ptle@nyu.edu
Jacqueline Martinez Associate Professor martinez@nyshealth.org
Marion Nestle Professor, NYU Steinhardt marion.nestle@nyu.edu
Brian Paquette Associate Professor, NYU Faculty of Arts and Science brian.paquette@nyu.edu
William Rom Professor, NYU School of Medicine william.rom@nyumc.org
Ellyn Toscano Associate Professor, NYU Florence ellyn.toscano@nyu.edu
Donna Vallone Associate Professor dvallone@truthinitiative.org

Research Faculty

Juliet Bedford Professor, NYU College of Global Public Health jb5769@nyu.edu
Ernest Drucker Professor, NYU College of Global Public Health ed102@nyu.edu
Andrew Kolody Associate Professor andrew.kolodny@nyu.edu
Lori Peek Associate Professor lori.peek@colostate.edu
Michael Tacelosky Professor tac.tacelosky@nyu.edu
Janet Tobias Associate Professor, NYU College of Global Public Health janet@ikanamedia.com